No Tears Suite

In September 2017, the Oxford American premiered the No Tears Suite, a large-ensemble jazz composition in honor of the sixtieth anniversary of the Little Rock Central High School desegregation crisis and based on Melba Pattillo Beals’s memoir Warriors Don’t Cry. Moved by the suite’s first iteration and eager to share it on a larger stage, the OA presented a reprise of the original performance in March 2019. To see more from that special performance, click here.

January 02, 2019

FRIDAY, MAR. 1, 2019 at 12:00 PM | LITTLE ROCK

A free-to-the-public panel discussion presented in collaboration with the National Park Service and Clinton School of Public Service will be held at Central High School National Historic Site. Featuring  Rufus Reid, Kelley Hurt, and Bobby LaVell, the panel will be moderated by composer Chris Parker. The goal is to facilitate discussion on the ongoing work of social equity in the United States from the perspectives of people living in different communities and what role music and the arts play in affecting change in our society today.

January 02, 2019

SUNDAY, MAR. 3, 2019 at 3:00 PM | LITTLE ROCK

A reprise performance of the No Tears Suite, written by jazz pianist Chris Parker and vocalist Kelley Hurt, with expanded symphonic arrangements written by and featuring Rufus Reid (bass); Brian Blade (drums); Bobby LaVell (tenor saxophone); Marc Franklin (trumpet); Chad Fowler (baritone and alto saxophone); and an Arkansas Symphony Orchestra chamber ensemble—conducted by ASO's Geoffrey Robson.

The No Tears Suite was written in honor of unity on the 60th anniversary of the Little Rock Central High School Crisis.

July 02, 2018

TUESDAY, NOV. 27, 2018

Help us make #GivingTuesday a success! Donate to our new Women Artists Fund to make a difference.